ICT Graduate Schools

Who applies? Fund focus: Capability, Research, Learning focus, Workplace training, Vocational skills
Status: Limited to certain providers Agreed through? Contract (off Plan)

Budget 2014 allocated $28.6m over four years for an ICT Graduate School programme. The programme will deliver industry-focused education and research that builds connections between tertiary education providers and high-tech firms.

The objectives are to produce graduates with work-relevant and business-focused skills, provide more direct pathways from education into employment, and help grow New Zealand’s ICT talent.

The programme funds education, research and collaborative activities in ICT Graduate Schools in Auckland, Wellington and the South Island, linked to local industries' innovation precincts or technology hubs.

The programme also involves the development of more broadly applicable ICT education initiatives that can be delivered through affiliated education providers throughout New Zealand.

The Auckland school

The Auckland school is hosted by the University of Auckland and University of Waikato, with satellite campuses in Hamilton and Tauranga. It is focused on developing industry-focused post-graduate ICT students with the communication, critical thinking, business and enterprise skills that employers need.

Find out more information on the ICT Graduate School in Auckland website.

The Wellington school

The Wellington school is a collaboration between Victoria University of  Wellington, Wellington Institute of Technology and Whitireia New Zealand, and will be based in the Wellington CBD.

The school will provide industry-focused education to equip graduates with the technical skills and personal attributes sought by industry.

Find out more about the new school on the ICT Graduate School in Wellington website.

For more information about the Wellington school email Rees Ward, Director, Wellington ICT Graduate School or call his mobile 022 563 5791. 

The South Island school

The South Island school is hosted by the South Island Tertiary Alliance, which consists of the University of Canterbury, Christchurch Polytechnic and Institute of Technology, Lincoln University, Otago Polytechnic and the University of Otago. It will have a Christchurch campus located in the Christchurch Innovation Precinct and a satellite site in Dunedin.

The school will focus on key ICT areas relevant to the regional economies, including agri-tech, health technology and communication products and services.

Find out more about the ICT Graduate School in the South Island by emailing Professor Jan Evans-Freeman. A website link will be available soon.


  • Last changed: 18 July 2016
  • Last verified: 18 July 2016